The CAES confers several other awards every year. The following awards are recognized at the Annual General Meeting and Conference:

Excellence in Farm Business Management

Begun in 1984, this award is intended to encourage and recognize excellence in extension, research and teaching of farm business management concepts and practices in Canada. Candidates for the award must be nominated by at least two of their peers and must be members of the CAES. Nomination papers should include documented evidence of excellent performance.

Outstanding Ph.D. Thesis Award

The Outstanding Doctoral Thesis Award recognizes excellence in the study of agricultural economics, resource economics and farm management at the Doctoral level and is awarded every three years. The next award will be made in 2017. This award requires significant lead time - nominees have to be identified, documentation must be prepared, theses must be collected, distributed, read and evaluated, certificates must be prepared and winners contacted.

Outstanding Master's Thesis Award

This award recognizes excellence in student research. Each eligible department may select one or two theses from appropriate fields of study to be judged in the competition. The theses must be completed in the year previous to year the award will be given. The competition recognizes an overall winner and as many as two Honourable Mentions.

Outstanding Agribusiness Master's Project Award

The Agribusiness Master's Project Award recognized excellence in agribusiness research at the graduate level between 2002 and 2005. In July 2005, the award was discontinued.

Outstanding Journal Article Award

Outstanding Journal Article awards recognize achievement in agricultural economics, resource economics and farm management for articles appearing in the journal of the Society, the Canadian Journal of Agricultural Economics. As many as two certificates of achievement and up to two honorable mentions may be awarded at the discretion of the Awards committee. All articles appearing in the journal and proceedings of the Society in the year preceding recognition shall be eligible for consideration.

Publication of Enduring Quality Award

First presented in 2007, the Publication of Enduring Quality award recognizes an article at least 10 years in circulation that has provided enduring quality to the profession of agricultural economics, resource economics or farm management.

Undergraduate Book Prize Award

This award recognizes excellence in agricultural economics, farm management, resource economics and related fields of study at the undergraduate level. Universities with such programs of study are invited to nominate one candidate each. The criteria and selection are left to the Universities. The CAES provides a "Book Prize" to winners consisting of an award of $200 and a year's subscription to the Canadian Journal of Agricultural Economics. Prizes are given out by the University of the winner throughout the year.

Deadline for Nominations

Nomination deadlines and other details for various awards are available on the Calls for Nominations page.